Builders Association Names 2014 Officers

Builders Association Names 2014 Officers

A group of local construction professionals were installed recently as the 2014 officers and executive committee members of The Builders Association of Eastern Ohio and Western Pennsylvania (The Builders). The election was held at The Builders’ Annual Meeting. The group, which will serve a one-year term, consists of:

President: Brian Downie, Corporate Secretary, Alex Downie & Sons Company, based in Youngstown, Ohio. Mr. Downie resides in Poland, Ohio. Brian Downie is a fourth-generation project manager and estimator, following in the footsteps of his father and uncles. He holds an Estimating Commercial Buildings Certificate from the Construction Estimating Institute and a Hilti Firestop Specialty Contractor Certificate. He obtained a Masters Degree from Ohio University in 2001 and then gained valuable experience as a regional manager for an industrial supply house in Columbus before returning to Alex Downie & Sons in 2005. Brian has been a member of the Builders Executive Committee for four years, serving as an officer for the last three. He is also a trustee for the Indiana, Kentucky, and Ohio Regional Council of Carpenters’ Supplemental Unemployment Benefit Fund. He also participates in agreement negotiations for Carpenters Local 171. Brian is also a board member for the Northern Ohio Chapter of the National Safety Council, and a member of the Poland Rotary. Brian and his wife, Kricket, volunteer annually at the YMCA’s Camp Fitch - where they first met. They are the parents to Rowan (5), Jack (3), and Delaney (1).

1st Vice President: Howard Agueda, Subcontractor Manager, VEC Inc. of Girard, Ohio. Residence: Warren, Ohio
2nd Vice President: Jim Santini, President, Jim Santini Builder, Inc. of Washingtonville, Ohio. Residence: Lisbon, Ohio
3rd Vice President: Jeff Mason, Vice President, Youngstown Tile & Terrazzo Co., Inc. of Canfield, Ohio. Residence: Canfield, Ohio
Secretary/Treasurer: Jim Baker, Owner, Baker Painting & Coatings, LLC, of Boardman, Ohio. Residence: Boardman, Ohio
Past President: Edwin G. Stevens, President, Stevens Masonry, Inc. of New Castle, Pennsylvania. Residence: New Castle, PA
Executive Vice President: Kevin Reilly, Executive Vice President of The Builders Association of Eastern Ohio and Western PA, based in Vienna, Ohio. Residence: Mineral Ridge, Ohio

2014 Executive Committee Members: Jim Breese, Chris Chappell, Bob Daloise, Joe DeSalvo, Ken DiPanfilo, Jeff Donatelli, Harry Grafton, John Handerhan, Jerry Harper, Gale Measel, Geoff Measel, Cliff Morgan, Jim Pitzer, Joe Rich, Mark Zeidenstein, and Jerry Zreliak

Builders Association of Eastern Ohio and Western Pennsylvania International Masonry Institute International Union of Bricklayers & Allied Craftworkers Laborers' International Union of North America Lawrence County Chamber of Commerce